My Flat Footed Oreo Macarons

Leaning Tower of Oreos

After craving for Oreo McFlurry for the past week, I was itching to try making these Oreo macarons by tweaking the previously successful macaron recipe. So I just added two heaping tablespoons of finely crushed Oreo cookies (sieved) to the dry ingredients and crossed my fingers.

Everything was fine. The feet were developing nicely, though the macarons were a tad to close to each other. After the 5th minute, it all went downhill. The feet started to merge! After taking them out of the oven, I realised that the smooth outer shell were to soft and thin. They tasted quite good though with the dark chocolate ganache but I would really like a stronger oreo taste the next time.

I think the problem with this recipe was that the additional dry ingredients made it harder to determine when to stop folding the batter. My batter was probably over-beaten.

So, yep, the macaron mania is still going strong but I think they’ll be a cake coming along in the near future and of course, the matcha macarons. Till then..

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment