Sleepless in Singapore – 200 words and counting..

Before

To commemorate the beginning of the end, I decided to bake a cake. A coffee sponge cake to be exact, with coffee flavored crème Chantilly covered with mocha ganache enclosed in a fence of cappuccino wafer sticks. Well, you get the picture. I’m prepping myself for a month of little sleep as I attempt to write the longest and most important document of my education.

Not that this cake could even dream of existing for a month. To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of coffee. Even during the exam periods, I rather stick to the caffeine in Coke than a cup of coffee. I cannot even stand the strong aroma of coffee wafting out of Starbucks as I walk pass. A whiff is heaven but anything more is torture. Luckily, the cake didn’t turn out too strong (though, you sure can add more coffee if you wish) but the wafer sticks were a tad overbearing. So the pairing worked out in the end.

Pipe organ coffee cake

Here’s the recipe adapted from Passionate about Baking:

Coffee Sponge Cake

(recipe for a 5 inch round pan – double recipe for usual 8 inch round pan)

Ingredients

75 g plain flour

12 1/2 g corn flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 pinch of salt

2 1/2 tbsp oil

1 1/2 eggs (separated)

1 tbsp instant coffee

75 g fine sugar

2 1/2 tbsp water

Preheat oven to 190 degree Celsius and line pan with pan lining.

Sift all dry ingredients together into a mixing bowl. Lightly beat oil, water and egg yolks together before stirring in dry ingredients in batches. Beat on low-speed until smooth.

Beat egg whites until soft peaks form before folding in the egg whites (gently) into the yolk mixture.

Bake for 30-35 minutes till well risen and golden brown.

Coffee Flavored Crème Chantilly

Ingredients

65 ml whipping cream

1 tbsp castor sugar

1/2 tsp instant coffee (to taste)

Whip all ingredients together till firm

Mocha Ganache

Ingredients

50 ml cream

80 g dark chocolate buttons

1/2 tbsp instant coffee

Heat cream until just boiling and add chocolate and coffee powder, stirring constantly until smooth and shiny. Let cool before frosting.

To assemble the cake, just slice the cake into half, spread the crème Chantilly in the middle and on top of the cake and frost generously with the ganache. The wafer sticks were just a mean to camouflage my uneven frosting of the side of the cake. Cut the wafer sticks with a knife to get wafer sticks of even height (obviously I didn’t realise this until too late).

Else you’ll get a cake resembling Davy Jones’ pipe organ!


3 Responses

  1. A beautiful cake! Love both the recipe and the picture. And I thought that the “pipe organ” was the original idea, a sort of an “artistic touch” :-)

    I also made a coffee cake this week (even though I don’t drink coffee either), but I used cottage cheese for the mousse to save calories :-) http://cookingrookie.blogspot.com/2010/03/coffee-mousse-cake3_04.html

  2. Your cake looks delicious! And I love all the photos on your blog. I can’t seem to find enough natural light around the house!

  3. This looks SO good! I don’t think I could have dreamt this up on my own! My mouth is watering and I’ve posted a link to this on my blog for this tuesday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

